“This Is Exactly What It Sounds Like” and “Mortal Thoughts on a Spring Day” by Maura Alia Badji

This Is Exactly What It Sounds Like

When doves cry where do they keep the ever-growing ache?
Pain
Crystallizes.
Disbelief
Numbs.
Pain
Humbles,
Ages.
Inescapable
Pain.
When doves cry where do they keep the ever-growing ache?

***

Mortal Thoughts on a Spring Day

If you leave, who will teach me the old pathways, Mama?
My
Thirteen-year-old
Boy
Wonders.
My
Suddenly
Tall
Son,
My…
Mama, who will teach me the old pathways, if you leave?

Maura Alia Badji
5/25/2016

MABGrayscaleheadshot

 

2 comments

  1. Jona · May 28, 2016

    I couldn’t resist commenting. Very well written!

    Like

  2. themoxiebee · May 30, 2016

    Thank you jona for your kind words. \I appreciate you took the time to comment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

